Lowkey life. Happy life.

15875079_1864809647085414_5972495907921188425_o

“The less you reveal the more people can wonder.” – Emma Watson

Its been years that I’ve given up some of my social media accounts such as Twitter and Tumblr. The time came when my friends and other people that I know started using Snapchat. I guess I didn’t fancy it. I was trying to conceal myself as much as possible than expose everything in my life. Though this actual thought of posting such topic is just my opinion, I’m not saying that I’m saying its a bad thing.

As for my life, I was more happy in way of deactivating. Tumblr became my life when I was in high school. Everything I post there was all that I feel. Things that photographs showed my emotions. I knew so many things about people, politics, activism, rights. I was aware so much. Then there goes that pessimism when the people I followed started to post things that I didn’t want. I was turning to be like them. I reached graduating high school with a cynical point of view with my heart broken, shattered everywhere. My life was a mess but I was trying to bear it.

I did try to be active on Tumblr when I was in college but then, there were so much more things that I was trying to delete because I was telling myself to forget bad memories and it became a habit. I had two Tumblr accounts back then and I deleted the personal account which I used as my diary and the other one for my public account that I just post things whatever I like. But as I was scrolling down my account, I looked so sad. It seems that I was searching for something that I don’t know and I don’t know if it exists. Maybe I was looking for happiness in a website or attention but I gave it up. I stopped posting. I tried to be busy with school instead and disregarded the thought of the people I follow that the world is a terrible place. I deleted it. It was sad too, in a way that an account there was a part of me. I have posted more than a thousand things and I just left everything behind to zero.

Weeks passed and Twitter as still on my phone. I kept ranting with relevance. I wanted to prove things on my perspective. I gained people realizing I was right — to things that us people should be inspired and how we could see the world with good things and positivity. I get annoyed when people rant about the most simplest things that they’re hungry and they could just get food or cook. I hated that. Their heads aching and seeking for nursing and care which I actually think that they needed cure so they should fetch themselves medicine from the medikit. People swearing without reason and posting it because they think its cool. That’s when I decided to deactivate on Twitter as well. People were unreasonable seeking attention for their fave or like, I forgot what its called. People stalking each other and hating or trying to envy what other people had. It was useless in my growth development.

I didn’t see much women and men on the people I follow. They were all trying to prove a point of things that they hated about a person. So much hate. So much to bear. No empathy. Plastic hearts for fame in friendship. Gaining ego without the essence. I guess I just didn’t like the people I followed there so I decided to delete it instead.

That’s when I realized that I was free. If only I could delete my Facebook, I would. But my professors and the school announcements are there. So I have to keep it. But as much as possible, almost weekly, I delete people that I really don’t know or the people that I don’t want to keep in touch because their posts are toxic and unhelpful to my being.

I surrounded myself with people who knew how to handle things that I should solve up to solutions rather than complaining. I whine a lot but if you have the right people around you. You end up, silently solving the situation like them. It made me a better person on that aspect. I was starting to focus on my real environment and not on the sites on my screen trying to prove articles and news, or even philosophical views. Besides, I loved the world after leaving the internet. For me, it helped. I don’t know to other people. But well, do as you please. ‘Cause this is just my point of view. And on my point of view, yes, I am happy.

I admit now. For the last two years, I never told the world why I laughed on particular dates I could’ve mentioned here. But those were mine to keep. And I’ll gladly keep it only for my box of happiness.

Staying lowkey will solve literally half of your problems.

Leave a Reply

